2D Artist (m/w/d)

...Wir suchen!

We are looking for a full time 2D Artist

You have a passion for game development and have been able to gain a few years of experience in your life as an Artist? You're motivated and interested in becoming part of an up-and-coming indie game studio? You like to work across disciplines and the proverbial "edge of your nose" has never been a limit for you? Then you are a ByteRocker! 

Who are we? 

ByteRockers' Games is a developer studio from Berlin that has been around since 2008. In 2021, we not only achieved our greatest success with our title Insurmountable, but were also able to form profitable partnerships. We independently develop diversified games for all major platforms, for example PC, PlayStation and Nintendo SWITCH. Our strength lies in the independent, joint development of unique indie games. You can expect to work on different projects in small teams with about 5-10 members. We are currently working on 3 full-price titles in parallel. 


 

Your responsibilities: 

You will work closely with the game designers, other concept artists and the art lead to work out the visual vision and art direction on concepts. You will create and design well thought out character/enemy concepts (with focus on movement & animation), environment & props concepts for 3D artists & animators to work with. 

What you should bring: 

  • Knowledge in creating VFX concepts as a basis for in-game visual effects. 

  • Character concept experience 

  • Experience in environment & props design 

  • Strong fundamentals in anatomy, color theory, composition, lighting, design principles, etc. 

  • Well organized, able to work independently, meet deadlines and give realistic estimates 

  • You can process feedback and requirements quickly in iterations

  • Experience in the Unity Engine 

Desirable (but not required) experience with: 

  • Comfortable in different art styles, e.g. realistic & stylized 

  • Experience with 3D software (Blender, ZBrush, Maya). 
     

 

What do we offer? 

You will become a member of a team working on our latest game. Unfortunately, we can't tell you which game it is here, but we'll be happy to tell you more about it in person.  
 
Our spacious, modern office is centrally located in Berlin-Steglitz, directly at the U-Bhf. Schloßstrasse. Flexitime, the possibility for several digital days per week, many opportunities to help shape the graphics and design, the projects and processes are an integral part of our company culture. We currently allow corona-related home office and there will also be mobile working in the future. Free drinks, fruit and coffee await you on site! In addition, we offer you the possibility of a membership in a modern gym here in the house as well as various training opportunities and look forward to your ideas on how we can further strengthen our cooperation. We attach great importance to respectful interaction and a pleasant working environment. 

 
Of course, you can expect an appropriate salary for your job. We would like to hear about your performance. 

Please send us samples of your work, including unpublished projects, to jobs@byterockers.games and feel free to refer to this advertisement.

 

We look forward to getting to know you.

2D Artist (m/w/d)

...Wir suchen!

Wir suchen einen 2D Artist in Vollzeit

Du hast eine Leidenschaft für die Spieleentwicklung und konntest in deinem Leben als Artist schon ein paar Jahre Erfahrung sammeln? Du bist motiviert und hast Interesse Teil eines aufstrebenden Indie Game Studios zu werden? Du arbeitest gerne fachübergreifend und der sprichwörtliche Tellerrand war noch nie eine Grenze für dich? Dann bist du ein ByteRocker! 

Wer sind wir? 

ByteRockers‘ Games ist ein seit 2008 bestehendes Entwicklerstudio aus Berlin. 2021 haben wir mit unserem Titel Insurmountable nicht nur unseren größten Erfolg erzielt, sondern konnten auch gewinnbringende Partnerschaften schließen. Wir entwickeln unabhängig abwechslungsreiche Spiele für alle gängigen Plattformen, beispielsweise PC, PlayStation und Nintendo SWITCH. Unsere Stärke liegt in der eigenverantwortlichen, gemeinsamen Entwicklung von einzigartigen Indie Games. Bei uns erwartet dich die Mitarbeit an verschiedenen Projekten in kleinen Teams mit ca. 5-10 Mitgliedern. Zurzeit arbeiten wir an 3 Vollpreistiteln parallel. 
 

Deine Aufgabenbereiche: 

Du arbeitest eng zusammen mit den Game Designern, anderen Concept Artists und dem Art Lead, um die visuelle Vision und die Art Direction über Concepts auszuarbeiten. Du erstellst und designst gut durchdachte Character/Gegner Concepts (mit Fokus auf Bewegung & Animation), Environment & Props Concepts womit 3D Artists & Animatoren weiterarbeiten können. 

Was du mitbringen solltest: 

  • Kenntnisse in der Erstellung von VFX Konzepten als Basis für visuelle in-game Effekte 

  • Character concept Erfahrung 

  • Erfahrungen in Environment & Props Design 

  • Starke Grundlagen in Anatomie, Farbentheorie, Komposition, Licht, Design Prinzipien etc. 

  • Gut organisiert, in der Lage selbstständig zu arbeiten, Deadlines einzuhalten und realistische Einschätzungen zu geben 

  • Du kannst Feedback und Anforderungen schnell in Iterationen verarbeiten

  • Erfahrung in der Unity Engine 

Wünschenswerte (aber nicht zwingend erforderliche) Erfahrung mit: 

  • Komfortabel in unterschiedlichen Artstilen, z.B. realistisch & stilisiert 

  • Erfahrungen mit 3D Software (Blender, ZBrush, Maya) 

 

Was bieten wir? 

Du wirst Mitglied in einem Team werden, das an unserem neuesten Spiel arbeitet. Um welches Spiel es sich handelt, können wir hier leider nicht sagen, erzählen dir aber gern persönlich mehr darüber.  
 
Unser großzügiges, modernes Büro befindet sich zentral in Berlin-Steglitz gelegen, direkt am U-Bhf. Schloßstrasse. Gleitarbeitszeit, die Möglichkeit für mehrere digital Days pro Woche, viele Mitgestaltungsmöglichkeiten bei Grafik und Design, den Projekten und Prozessen sind fester Bestandteil unserer Firmenkultur. Derzeit ermöglichen wir coronabedingtes Home Office und auch zukünftig wird es mobiles Arbeiten geben. Vor Ort erwarten dich kostenlose Getränke, Obst und Kaffee! Zusätzlich bieten wir dir anteilig die Möglichkeit einer Mitgliedschaft in einem modernen Fitnessstudio hier im Haus sowie diverse Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten und freuen uns auf deine Ideen, wie wir unsere Zusammenarbeit noch stärken können. Bei uns wird sehr viel Wert auf respektvollen Umgang und ein angenehmes Arbeitsumfeld gelegt. 

 
Selbstverständlich erwartet dich für deine Aufgabe ein entsprechend angemessenes Gehalt. Hier würden wir gern deine Vorstellung erfahren. 

Schicke uns bitte gern Arbeitsproben, auch von unveröffentlichten Projekten an jobs@byterockers.games und beziehe dich gern auf diese Ausschreibung.

Wir freuen uns darauf dich kennen zu lernen.